Day 137 – My toe hurts. I don’t wanna hike.

My toe was still throbbing in the morning. And it was big and red and swollen. Obviously I could not hike. Let’s be real honest. I had no real interest in hiking. I had one last day with my mom and I was going to spend it with her. Plus I still had some errands to run. We had breakfast and I blogged a bit in the morning before heading into town for lunch and one last visit to the outfitters.

IMG_2047

Mom let me drive… illegally… since my license had actually expired the day before on my birthday! It was my first time driving in over FOUR months. It felt awesome. Do you know how FAST you can go when you drive. I think I have the wrong idea with all this hiking business.

IMG_2048 IMG_2049

We headed to Panera for lunch. It is our favorite place. Panera twice in ONE week on the trail… such an amazing birthday week. Then it was off to the outfitters where I got some new water/camp shoes. While I was trying on shoes the salesman commented on my swollen toe. “Hunny, that looks infected.” Oh shit. Infected, of course. I thought it was just swollen from stubbing it but after shoving it in my boot the day before I think it was getting a little worse… I planned on hydrogen peroxide-ing the CRAP out of it when we got home.

After the outfitters we went to a yarn shop for mom and then headed back to Donna’s for one last night. What an AMAZING gift Donna gave us to spend this time at her home. It was nice to have a home-base and to just be able to be together with lots of comfort and space.

IMG_2050

I spent the evening blogging, snacking and playing with the BEST PRESENT I HAVE EVER GOTTEN! Of course one of the first orders of business was to update my background photo. Now I get to have my beautiful baby in my lap every night before I got to bed. I love my ipad. I love my ipad. I love my ipad.

IMG_2060

You know what I also love? My MOM! What a great four nights with the best mama in the world. It’s not the easiest job in the world, being my mom… but she does it well and I am SO lucky that she came all this way to spend my birthday with me and she worked so hard to make it so special. We were both feeling pretty anxious that night. Knowing that saying goodbye was going to suck the next morning… but the sooner we said goodbye the sooner we would see each other again.

I stayed up way too late blogging and packing and just pacing around the house and when I finally put myself to bed I STILL couldn’t sleep.

Here are some late-night thoughts before trying one last time to sleep. My final leg of this journey starts tomorrow. Here’s hoping the best is yet to come. Even though I have NO idea how I could ever top this birthday week I just had.

7 thoughts on “Day 137 – My toe hurts. I don’t wanna hike.

  1. what a great birthday!…
    and such love for….and from your family…
    glad to see you stoked!…
    we cannot wait to see your vids from the whites….then atop katahdin..
    take care of your wheels

  2. Hey Jess Happy be-lated Birthday that 28th is going to be hard to beat. Maines getting closer all the time.

  3. Jess, Uncle Bill and I love the video with the “special” teeth. We laughed so hard. You should put it on U-Tube and let everyone enjoy it. Glad you had a great birthday and are back in the New England states. Happy Trails!!! Love, Aunt Linda

    • hoping your toe is healing….
      btw…here is what someone wise wrote about AFTER finishing the trail….
      .i ESPECIALLY like the last one…
      you are almost there…

      When I successfully thru-hike the Appalachian Trail I will…

      -eat a HUGE cheeseburger

      – feel like I can do ANYTHING.

      – have an even greater sense of the importance and beauty of mother nature.

      – mostly likely have a whole lot of new friends who will probably last a lifetime.

      – have a new sense of who I am and what I want my life to look like.

      – have a better appreciation from my friends and family and the support they give me.

      – never doubt the importance of following your dreams.

      – have proven to myself and all those watching that I can do this.

      – feel extreme pride and accomplishment.

      – have new confidence in myself.

      – have done something truly EXTRAORDINARY!

  4. Hi Jess I’ve been following your blog and am really inspired by your courage and fantastic attitude. You remind me so much of my own daughter who I will be dropping off back at college in Maine and just a couple of weeks. So I guess it’s the mom in me that is wondering why you haven’t posted in a while and I’m hoping that you are well and making terrific progress. You are inspiring—you go girl!

Leave a comment